Back in business.

Courtesy of my part-time employer, I will be attending an Arabic class for the next month. I’ve also left my job to sell everything and move out with my wife to Monterey, CA. If all goes well I should be out there for the next few years of my life attending college. After that, who knows? As much as leaving Augusta will be an exciting thing, leaving behind my good friends and family is hard and sad. I feel like I’ve made some of the best friends here, some of whom I’ve been with since the start of my time in the Air Force five years ago. I’ve also enjoyed the security of a certain profession for a while, and walking away from that, even with all my gripes about it, is still a scary prospect. How do I know I’m doing the right thing? Should I have stuck with it longer? Was I too demanding of what I expect out of it? I don’t know the answers at all, and the questions certainly give me pause in the quieter hours of the day.

That said, I cling to the hope that my gamble will pay off, if not financially and career-wise, then at least in the quality of life I live. I’ve become more and more bitter and cynical through my experiences with the Air Force, and I just don’t want that to continue. The ability to mentally separate work from my “real” life is not one I seem to have been given, and my “real” life suffers for it when work isn’t going well. Getting out in the wilderness to go climbing or hiking seems to be one of the few ways to recharge and lighten my load, and I haven’t been able to do that here in Augusta nearly as much as I’ve needed.

So here is to stepping off into the unknown.

Therefore lift your drooping hands and strengthen your weak knees, and make straight paths for your feet, so that what is lame may not be put out of joint but rather be healed. Strive for peace with everyone, and for the holiness without which no one will see the Lord. See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God; that no “root of bitterness” springs up and causes trouble, and by it many become defiled. -Hebrews 12:12-15

One thought on “Back in business.

  1. Welcome back, my friend. We have missed you. I too know the leap of great faith one must take to walk from the security of a profession. I can assure you that in my experience, my gamble has paid off, not in a higher pay check, but with happier days.

Comments are closed.